My baby boy is turning one tomorrow and I’ve been sobbing on and off all evening.

I feel silly.  He’s a healthy, happy, perfect little boy.  I couldn’t possibly ask for a more wonderful child.  But he’s growing up so fast and I just want time to slow down.  I want to wake him up and cuddle him, savouring the last few hours of babyhood.  I want to hold his warm, snuggly little self and gaze into his gray eyes, adoring him, loving him.

I dread to think all the terrible things that might happen to him in his life.  I want him to be as happy and loved as he is now, always.  I don’t want his heart broken, I don’t want him to get sick.  I don’t want him to have his feelings hurt, for that sweet, trusting smile to leave his face.

Oh, I know I should be looking forward to all the wonderful things his life will bring.  Maybe that will come tomorrow.  But tonight all I can do is cry, cry, cry.

