I’m loving menu planning!  I always know what to make, and if I don’t feel like it, I can always have something else.  I stuck pretty closely to my plan this week, although I bought some squash and sweet potatoes to make baby food and decided that half of it was going to soup for us.  I looooooove butternut squash and sweet potato soup.  It would be in this week’s plan if I didn’t just have it yesterday!  And there are leftovers frozen for lunch.

I’m really looking forward to this week.  It’s odd that I’ve never thought about what our favourite meals are, I just make what I’m in the mood for!  So here is a small sample of our favourite things to eat!

Monday – Danish Meatballs with potatoes and steamed garden carrots

  • 2lbs hamburger
  • 3/4c chopped onion
  • salt& pepper
  • 1/2t nutmeg
  • 2 eggs
  • flour
  • ¼ c. shortening
  • 1c beef stock (or water with oxo)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • combine beef, onion, salt, pepper, nutmeg & eggs. Shape into meatballs
  • mix flour, a bit more salt and pepper, roll meatballs in flour mixture
  • brown on all sides in hot shortening (or butter), add bay leaf
  • cover, cook slowly for 20-30 min. Remove meatballs
  • Blend 3T flour mixture with pan drippings, brown. Stir in 1 ½ c. water. Cook until med. Thickness, stirring constantly.
  • Serve with mashed potatoes. Yum!

Tuesday – Curry with naan bread

  • Meat (chicken, beef, whatever you like)
  • Can of tomatoes
  • Cream
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Turmeric
  • Cumin
  • Coriander
  • Cardamom pods
  • Cayenne/chili pepper

Nann bread

This is my husband’s job! Basically, you chop up the meat, and onion, fry it in a pot. Add the tomatoes and spices (about ½ t of each, it’s to your taste, reall). Simmer until nice and thick and flavours are blended. Add the cream near the end, just enough to make it taste good! Serve with rice, naan bread, or both!

Wednesday – Oven Fried Chicken Parmesan, with zucchini (I still haven’t eaten it! Good thing they keep well!)

  • 1c. soft fresh breadcrumbs
  • 1/3c. grated parmesan cheese
  • 2T minced parsley
  • ½ clove minced garlic
  • ¼ t pepper
  • 1/2c. melted butter
  • chicken pieces
  • preheat oven to 400F
  • butter a baking dish
  • combine 1st 5 ingredients, place in pie plate (or shallow dish)
  • put melted margarine in another pie plate
  • dip chicken in butter first, then crumb mixture
  • put in baking dish, pour rest of margarine over chicken & bake uncovered for 35 min
  • baste with pan juices occasionally

I freeze a big batch of the crumb mixture in a baggie (using garlic powder) so this is super quick to make!

Thursday – Cheese toasties and beans (this is my husband’s favourite. He’s actually a six-year-old)

Friday – leftovers, husband’s away

Saturday – at a wedding, no cooking for us!

Sunday – Salad with hard boiled eggs and other yummy things

Ooooh!  Alternately . . . . big fry-up!  I’m sure hubby would be ok with this!

It’ll be interesting to see what other people came up with!

